Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



Chengdu Expressway Co., Ltd. 成都高速公路股份有限公司 (a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 01785)

## ANNOUNCEMENT IN RELATION TO THE NON-COMPETITION AGREEMENT

This announcement is made in compliance with the disclosure obligations in the section headed "Relationship with our Controlling Shareholders" as set out in the prospectus published on 28 December 2018 ("**Prospectus**") by Chengdu Expressway Co., Ltd. (the "**Company**", together with its subsidiaries, the "**Group**").

Pursuant to the Non-competition Agreement entered into between the Company and its controlling shareholder, Chengdu Communications Investment Group Co., Ltd. ("Chengdu Communications Investment"), Chengdu Communications Investment undertakes that, Chengdu Communications Investment and its subsidiaries (excluding the Group) will not, during the term of the Non-competition Agreement, and will procure their associates not to directly or indirectly, engage in, individually or jointly, with other entities, or assist to engage in or participate in any business which competes with the principal business of the Company in Sichuan Province. If Chengdu Communications Investment and its subsidiaries (excluding the group) identify any new business opportunities which compete, directly or indirectly, or may compete with the principal business of the Company to consider whether to accept such new business opportunities.

The Company has recently received a letter from Chengdu Communications Investment, pursuant to which, Chengdu Municipal Administration Committee (成都市城市管理委員會) and Chengdu Science and Technology Bureau (成都市科學技術局) propose to transfer their respective equity interests held in Chengdu Chengke Huanghua Petrol Station (成都成科皇花加油站) and two other enterprises (collectively, the **"Target Enterprises"**, which own a total of four petrol stations, including Chengdu Chengke Huanghua Petrol Station, Chengdu Xinhua Petrol Station (成都市新華加油站), Chengdu Huamin Municipal Petrol Station (成都市華民市政加油站) and Chengdu Municipal Shiling Petrol Station (成都市市政十陵加油站)) to Chengdu Communications Investment at nil consideration (the "**Project**"). In this regard, Chengdu Communications Investment inquired with the Company on whether the Company proposes to acquire the equity interests in the Target Enterprises.

After making analysis of the Project, all independent non-executive directors of the Company are of the view that as issues relating to the property ownership and labor and personnel of the Target Enterprises have not been settled and the Company is not a qualified transferee for the purpose of the aforementioned equity transfer at nil consideration, it is therefore not the appropriate timing for the Company to acquire the equity interests in the Target Enterprises. Based on the above, all independent non-executive directors of the Company have resolved that the Company will not acquire the Project for the time being, provided that the Company shall at all times be entitled to exercise the acquisition option, right of first refusal and other rights under the Non-competition Agreement following the completion of registration of change in capital contributor of the Target Enterprises by Chengdu Communications Investment with the market administration and regulation authorities and settlement of the aforementioned issues. If the Company will comply with approval procedures and disclosure obligations in accordance with applicable laws and regulations as well as the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

On behalf of the board of directors Chengdu Expressway Co., Ltd. Xiao Jun Chairman

Chengdu, the PRC, 22 April 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises Mr. Yang Tan, Ms. Wang Xiao, Mr. Zhang Dongmin and Mr. Luo Dan as executive directors, Mr. Xiao Jun and Mr. Yang Bin as non-executive directors, and Mr. Shu Wa Tung, Laurence, Mr. Ye Yong and Mr. Li Yuanfu as independent non-executive directors.